A little key lime love

Standard

Last night I wrote an amazing blog post about the Key Lime bars I made yesterday….it was fabulous even stupendous; however, you will never know because POOF it disappeared when I went to preview.  This is the second time this has happened since I got my new laptop and I am not too pleased but I can’t seem to figure out the logistics of why it is happening :(  Going forward I am going to back everything up in a separate program so I can keep my sanity and my computer doesn’t end up on my neighbor’s roof ;)

So yesterday my inspiration came from a very unlikely source….a song!

I woke up singing the following:

Brother bought a coconut, he bought it for a dime
His sister had another one, she paid it for the lime

She put the lime in the coconut, she drank ‘em both up

All morning it kept running through my head and so I decided that I would honor the beautiful keys and make a sweet key lime treat!

Key Lime Bars!  I have no will power when it comes to these babies…I go weak at the knees!

The crust is so buttery and zippy with the zest of the lime and the filling so creamy, luscious & tart with the key lime juice.

Here are the players:

Key Lime Bars (slightly adapted from Evil Shenanigans)

  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • zest of 1 lime
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 6 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1/2 cup key lime juice
  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs

First you want to set your oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9×9 baking dish and line it with parchment–all I had was wax paper and I had to fight off the smoking so go ahead and use parchment!

Put the graham cracker crumbs, sugar & lime zest in a bowl

I love the idea of having lime zest in the crust….I am going to do that with lemon sometime in a cheesecake- that will be fun!

Then you drizzle in your melted butter~

and stir it with love and then pour it in your baking dish and you can use your fingers or the back of a spoon to spread out evenly and make sure it goes up the side about 1 inch….or be like me and I like the thick crust at the bottom–because every piece it not an end piece!  Equality for ALL I say!

Throw that into the oven and bake for 10 minutes while you make the filling

For the filling- add egg yolks, sweetened condensed milk & key lime juice and mix it up

When the crust has come out of the oven and cooled then pour the mixture into the baking dish and marvel at the masterpiece you are about to create!

pop that baby in the oven at the same temp for 10 minutes or until set.  You are not looking for any color on it…just for it to be firm and not giggly.

Behold your masterpiece~ BUT WAIT you must chill it for no less that 1 hour and 2 + hours is even better but let’s be honest…..who wants to wait!

Look how pretty- I garnished with some lime slices but you could also garnish with toasted coconut and even put it in the crust mixture….it just isn’t my thing but you can make it yours ;)

Please go forth and makes these fantabulous treats!  Make them for your friends, loved ones, friends of friends….just make them!  I promise you’ll be the most popular parent at the PTA if you bring these!

Have a great Thursday!

What is your favorite island nibble?

Leave a Reply

