3 ways to Sunday

Standard

It’s been a very busy day with a little 4-year-old girl running laps around me.  I woke up with a headache and it took most of the day for me to shake it 😦  But we ended the day with bruschetta & water balloons…is there anything better?

I had lots of bits and pieces of goodies from last night’s pizza extravaganza so I came up with these 3 types of bruschetta.  They were all 3 spectacular and if anyone is having a cocktail party or a happy hour or needs to whip up a quick antipasto- take my cue!

What I love so much about bruschetta is that the base is always roasted bread rubbed with raw garlic & drizzled with olive oil but the rest of the toppings are up to you!  Here is what I used:

a small loaf of bread, fresh mozzarella, pepperoni, garlic, cremini mushrooms, heirloom tomatoes, chives & rosemary + a little pizza sauce dipper

Bruschetta 3 ways

*heirloom tomato & rosemary

*mozzarella, pepperoni & chives

*sautéed cremini shrooms & shredded basil

Again, I also used the pizza sauce for a dipping sauce but these babies can totally stand on their own!

Preheat oven to Broil or 500 degrees

Line a cookie sheet with foil and place the bread pieces and drizzle them with some oil

My oil had some herbs in it and it made it that much better!

While waiting for the oven to heat up…..

Saute the shrooms with a splash of white vino

I have found that Vermouth is THE BEST when you saute shrooms but if you are out then use any dry white wine.

* a quick tip when you are sautéing shrooms

don’t salt them until they are caramelized….see the salt prevents them from getting color and color = FLAVOR!!!

When you do salt them….this is a good one to use 🙂

I know I know you may be thinking that you have garlic salt in the pantry but you have not lived until you have had the pleasure of using this one!

Put the bread in the oven and keep your eyes on it. It will only take a few minutes….don’t walk away…if it burns you will never forgive yourself!

Once those babies are bubbly & brown take them out and top them with L-O-V-E…..

I think they were gone in about 3 minutes so my advice is to make more than you think you may eat because you will want more!

We have an outside birthday party to go to tomorrow….please say a little prayer for us that we don’t melt….it’s a real possibility with a high of 108.

Have a great night!

What is your favorite cocktail food?

Leave a Reply

