The end of an era

Standard

So yesterday was quite a bittersweet day……

I picked Bella up from her last day of Preschool…EVER

She has had such an amazing year and amazing teachers and she has really blossomed and she is 100% ready for Pre-K, even if Mommy isn’t ready for her to go:(

Awwww she was so little…….and needed me

Now I guess I should expect her to flinch a little when I kiss and hug her at the door in front of her friends but it’s ok because I still take all the sunggles and cuddles I can get- on her terms of course;)

See you later Mom–I have got this!

Goodness I love this child.

So to celebrate the end of Preschool and the end of summer…we made PIZZA!

This is not Papa Johns people!

I went to the gourmet market here because if you are going to do it- you should do it with the best ingredients!

The best thing about making homeade pizza is that you can use whatever you want to top your pizza and this is what Bella chose…..

Some awesome mozzarella and pepperoni…some colorful tomatoes…some shrooms that Bella taste tested and picked out herself and mommy didn’t get a picture of up close…pfffff

and I even bought a couple of links of mild italian sausage and took the casings off and made tiny meatballs

YUMMMMMMMMMM- DROOL

Lightly brush the top of your crust with a little oil.  Speaking of crust- I bought ready-made crust because I didn’t get my act together but people you have better choices!  You can purchase frozen dough and thaw it and add herbs and make it as thick or as thin as you would like.  An even better option is going to your local pizza joint and ask for some dough- they are usually happy to give you some:)

Then add your sauce- we decided to do 2 different sauces- red pizza sauce & alfredo but the world is your oyster and you could even just use the olive oil by itself.

Add the cheese & the toppings:

I started the oven out at 450 and then when I was ready to put in the pizza, I turned it down to 425.  I left them in there, directly on the rack, for 10 minutes….but all ovens are not equal so anywhere from 8-12 minutes.

Here is the Penzey’s spice that I sprinkled on when they came out for a little POW:

It’s good stuff!

So remember whatever you like to top your pizza off with it will be wonderful….just make it yourself…..it really is better!

p.s. please use fresh mozzarella…it will knock your socks off

Pizza really makes things like your baby growing up a little easier!  Especially when she is the one to help you make it;)

Have a great Friday!

What are your favorite pizza toppings?

Leave a Reply

