Bison sliders – to die for

Standard

It’s Thursday night and we are all dragging a little bit.  The first week of school is almost over and we are all feeling the effects of the early mornings, shuttling to and from activities, and of course the relentless heat.  Is it winter yet?

Seriously, I promise you, I will NOT complain if we get snow for 3 months straight!  Who am I kidding….this is Texas and even with extreme weather- we wouldn’t get that kind of weather…I think 😉

Tonight I wanted to make something sensational and sensationally easy so I settled on Bison sliders

These were seriously the best sliders I have ever had!  And I am not saying that to brag…ok maybe I impressed myself a little 😉

In my experiences, anytime that I have ordered sliders from restaurants they are always dry and tasteless.  The juice was running down my arm with these babies and since bison/buffalo is like 98% lean- NO GUILT!

Here is how I made them:

  • 1 lb of quality bison (get from your butcher at your local market)
  • Lea & Perrin’s worcestershire (no other will do)
  • slider rolls
  • Penzey’s Smoky Seasoned Salt

Turn on or light your grill – get it super duper HOT!  Because the meat is so lean- this is going to be a very fast grilling experience or they will get overcooked-EWWWW

I put the meat balls on the platter and sprinkled the salt over them and the worcestershire and then formed the patties

I then split the rolls and took all my loot out to the super hot grill.  I put the burgers on first and lined the rolls right next to them to get them nice and toasty…..mmmmmm

I am a cheese-y kinda girl so I chose provolone but the beauty of the burger is you can choose ANYTHING you want or NOTHING at all…..yes they are that good

Look at how juicy those are!

I promptly got them off the grill after 3 minutes per side for medium-rare and into the kitchen to rest for a few minutes

Again, I am not going into detail about toppings as we didn’t get exotic this go around but I have some super big ideas and will be doing another post soon!

I simply made a mayo (please promise me you won’t use that Miracle Whip stuff…your buffalo deserves more from you after sacrificing its life for your dinner- thank you) ketchup spread and slathered it on the buns with a little romaine lettuce and then I did a cute tomato/pickle topper

Please make these this weekend- you will love me forever if you do!

Please don’t lick your screen….at least not with anyone in the room 😉

Have a great Thursday night 🙂

What are your favorite burger toppers?

Leave a Reply

