A little taste of Fall

Standard

This morning I got to indulge in my favorite Fall treat!  A Starby’s Pumpkin Spice Latte…..it is Fall in a cup to me and I heart it!

We are having a nice respite from the boiling temps here and so the thought of  coffee or soup doesn’t repulse me.

Yesterday, I had a ton of different size tomatoes that I needed to use and I wanted to make something a little more fall-ish…so I decided on Roasted Tomato Soup

This was heaven in a bowl, I tell you!  It was also fairly simple to make.

Let’s check out the step-by-step below

Roasted Tomato Soup (adapted from Tyler Florence)

  • 2 1/2 lbs of various tomatoes
  • 1 head of garlic
  • 3 shallots
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 2 Bay leaves
  • basil (fresh or in a tube if you can’t manage to keep fresh basil alive)
  • 4 Tablespoons butter
  • 1 Quart (4 cups) of chicken stock (homemade is best but the box will work 😉 )
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • Plain Greek yogurt

You want to start by coring and cutting the tomatoes in half along with the garlic & onion & shallots

Coring a tomato is very simple…use a paring knife and cut around the top and underneath the stem area

See how I am holding the knife?  That will make it 100% easier- just please be careful and don’t cut yourself!

Look how pretty these look in the roasting pan with some olive oil, salt & pepper

I just love this view 😉

Put it in a 450 degree oven for 20 minutes

I can’t believe the change that occurs and there is a TON of flavor in that pan.  I used a tad put of chicken stock to deglaze the pan as soon as it came out of the oven so that you get the yummy good bits off the bottom!

Throw it all in a stock pot with 3/4 of the chicken stock and the bay leaves & the buttah

Let that come together on high heat and bring to a boil and then turn down the heat to a simmer (about medium) and let it reduce for about 30 minutes.

Once it has reduced then you will need to use a stick or emersion blender to bring this all together.  I like a smooth tomato soup but you can leave it somewhat chunky if you like- you have choices!

Once it is all blended up the way you like it- then you need to add the basil- a chop or a squirt….whatever you are using 🙂

And here is my secret ingredient

I am using this in place of heavy cream or milk to make it a little more figure friendly.  You want to take it out of the fridge and bring it closer to room temperature so it does not seize up when you add it to the hot soup or you will get bits of yogurt in your soup and it won’t taste bad but it’s not what you want!

Then just stir that baby up and then it is ready to serve!  I chose a little avocado as a garnish but you could put several toppings out for a soup bar, which is always fun for the family!

YUM!

I don’t think this is going to make it long in the freezer…..

Happy intro to Fall!

What are your favorite Fall treats?

Leave a Reply

