Welcome back with a little ravioli love!

Standard

Well after a small hiatus…..it is GREAT to be back!  I have gotten so much positive feedback about my blog and was told by several people it was greatly missed and to get back to it!

What better way to kick it off than….

SPINACH.PROSCUITTO.CREAM CHEESE = L.O.V.E.

These pillows are filled with plenty of love I tell you!  The richness and flavor just explodes in your mouth

Let’s get going on the line-up of what you need for the ravioli:

recipe adapted from iowa girl eats because I heart her blog and would love for you to read it!

  • 1 egg yolk
  • 3 small cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 a sweet onion, chopped finely
  • 1 box frozen spinach, defrosted, drained & squeezed dry
  • 1/2 cup of chive cream cheese
  • 1 package of won ton wrappers
  • 4 ounces prosciutto
  • salt & peppa
  • Penzey’s Italian Dressing Base Mix

The first thing I did was chop the garlic and the onion so that I could caramelize them…..

DROOL~ I love the smell of onions & garlic cooking in a pan……it’s one of my true loves…..I would marry it if I could

While these are caramelizing….I popped the frozen spinach in the microwave for 7 minutes and once it was done…I put in a strainer and got all the water out cause you don’t want watery ravioli….blech….gross

Then throw that in a bowl with the prosciutto, onions, garlic, egg yolk, cream cheese + a little s & p and italian dressing base mix

Mix it all up and take out your won ton wrappers

These are so easy to use…they don’t dry out like puff pastry so you don’t have to keep them covered while you work with them.

Get a melon baller as this will help you control the amount of filling you use.  If you use too much it will all come out and you will have a bunch of spinach flavored water…..it will be gross.  Use control people!

then you just have to use a little glue aka water to keep them together….

now those look nice and pretty; however, it’s not good enough for me….no sir-ee!

Let’s make these more purty!

Take a glass or biscuit cutter and they go from totally square to radically round!

Et voila!  BEAUTTTTTTTTTTTIIIIIIIIIIIFFFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUULLLLL

Make sure that you get all the air bubbles again by pressing around the filling and moving any air bubbles out….no air bubbles here!

I placed them on top of wax paper on a baking sheet while I made them all.

This is in the freezes beautifully section of my cookbook, and I wanted to bring something that freezes beautifully in a major southern drawl….quick what movie is that from?

I love that these babies freeze beautifully because for 3 people I made about 12 fresh raviolis…and I threw the rest in a bag in the freezer and should be good for about 6 months 🙂

Throw into salted water for about 4 minutes

Then line a plate with paper towels and pull them out and drain

Now these are so good….you really don’t need a sauce but you can take 2 different routes….

Bella is a tomato/red sauce girl all the way so here is her plate

UM YUM! that looks phenom!  Just a little diced tomatoes with roasted garlic & buttah warmed up in a sauce pan….yes it’s that easy!

For the grown up sauce I made a beurre blanc….

well kind of

I used 8 ounces of white wine and pretend you see a shallot and DO NOT USE a red onion like me because it was WAY to sweet and it was not the flavor I wanted…juice a lemon.

Reduce in a sauce pan until there are about 2 tablespoons left

Once the mixture has reduced then you will add about 8 tablespoons of buttah….cold buttah and turn it on low while you are doing this

it will all come together and you will have a fabulous ravioli dish with a luscious sauce and the best part???!!!

RAVIOLI IN THE FREEZER!

SCORE!

and very soon it will look like this

yummy in my tummy….

Have a great Thursday night!

What is your favorite pasta sauce?  Are you an Alfredo fan?  Red Sauce? 

3 responses »

  1. Yippee!!! I’m so happy that you’re back!!! This recipe look AHHHH-MAZING!!!! I prefer red sauce typically…but with spinach, prosciutto, and cream cheese…I might lean towards the alfredo sauce!!! Let’s plan an adult play date to Penzey’s as I seriously need to check out their spices!!! :o)

  2. I am here to tell you, that getting to be the taster of all this wonderful food is awesome. These ravioli were awesome even if the Foodie Fabulista was not satisfied with the burre blanc. My plate was polished clean too. Bella said “this is the best dinner ever” She was right 🙂

Leave a Reply

