French Fries – the healthy way

Standard

Ever since I saw a picture on FoodGawker of these french fries- I was mesmerized

(source)

not only did I LOVE the presentation….I wanted to eat them off the screen and then I found out the REAL kicker…..

They were NOT potato…..they were NOT even sweet potato…..they were

BUTTERNUT SQUASH

I can’t believe how amazing these are- honestly.  The prep time is a little lengthy but WELL WORTH the wait

Here is the prep:

Cut the long trunk off the squash- use the bulb for soup or hash

Then peel it – you have to put some muscle in it cause it is a thick skin but I have faith in you…

Then cut and dice it into strips

try to keep them as uniform as possible so the cooking time will be the same

the biggest step that you absolutely can not by any means miss is drying these out….they are full of water so in order to get that crispy, french fry texture you have to let ’em sweat!

There are 2 ways you can do this- lay them on a paper towel for 2-3 hours or a faster method is to sprinkle them with salt and in about 30 minutes they will be ready!

Make sure you dry them off before you get ready to use them

Toss in a bowl with a teaspoon of olive oil, some Penzey’s smokey seasoned salt & Penzey’s ground cumin

Place on a lined cookie sheet and place under a low broiler

They will take some time but keep a eye on them.  I can’t give you exact times because it really depends on your oven.  I would say they took about 10 minutes on one side and then I flipped them to ensure even browning.

When they came out they looked like this

Crispy on the outside….like buttah on the inside….

You see how many I made?  They lasted 3.5 minutes and now sadly they are gone

but the memories are still there

They really are that good….in fact I want to make them again tomorrow

Thank you to FoodGawker for posting this wonderful recipe I adapted from Urban Poser , who by the way has a lot of grain/dairy/egg free recipes on her site for all my friends who have those dietary needs.

Please go make these to go along your hotdogs & hamburgers!  All the pleasure– NONE of the guilt.

Off to eat homemade white chocolate macadamia nut cookies with vanilla bean ice cream….HEY Butternut Squash is one of the TOP TEN BEST foods you can eat so I can indulge LOL!

Happy Monday Friends!

Leave a Reply

