Egg Nog Coffeecake ~ the perfect Christmas morning breakfast

Standard

After Thanksgiving, I had a ton of eggnog left over.  While I love the lusciousness & spiciness of it- I can only drink so much.  So I set out, with the help of my foodie friends, to find a deserving recipe of my favorite egg nog.

This is what I came up with~

Eggnog Coffee Cake

I am so excited to share this with you!!  Let’s get started

Cream the sugar & butter together~

My personal preference is to use a Kitchen Aid mixer to do this but since mine is MIA right now I pulled out the trusty old 1950 beaters and they work like a charm!

I have to share this with you- this is my FAVORITE egg nog–it has been for years.  If your grocery store carries it- run out and buy it today.  You can thank me later:)

Pour in the eggnog, add the sour cream, add 2 eggs, and a couple of teaspoons of freshly grated nutmeg

Now if you are one of those folks that despises sour cream~ I promise this is only for moisture and will in no way be like sour cream in the final product…pinkie swear!

Also, please don’t cheat and use the already grated nutmeg.  While it is perfect for some recipes- this one needs the real deal.  If you don’t have any available to you in your neck of the woods….order it here

This is my Christmas gift to you xo

Next you need to put the flour, salt, baking soda & baking powder together in a separate bowl

One very important part of this recipe is finding a little elf to help you:)

I needed a flour helper

And a mixing helper……

And most importantly help cleaning up aka licking the beaters……my elf didn’t fall off the turnip truck yesterday- she knew exactly what she was doing!

Pour the ingredients into a buttered baking dish

Make the streusel topping by mixing room temp butter, sugar, flour & freshly grated nutmeg together, until crumbly

Then sprinkle all over your batter, cover and pop in the fridge for 8 hours to set before baking….I know…what torture that was

Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes and you will have this….

Serve with eggnog with grated nutmeg or spicy eggnog coffee from Green Mountain would be awesome!

Perfect for Christmas morning nibbling while opening presents!

Egg Nog Coffee Cake

adapted from Mandy’s Recipe Box

1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup butter or margarine, room temperature
1 cup eggnog
1 container (8 ounces) sour cream
2 eggs
2 1/2 cups  all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons freshly grated nutmeg
Streusel Topping
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon  all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon butter, room temperature
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
The final pièce de résistance is an egg nog glaze….
I didn’t have any powdered sugar so opted out of it but it is the missing link
Egg Nog Glaze
1/2 c. powdered sugar

1-2 Tbsp. Egg Nog

It’s heavenly and won’t last long….

What are your favorite Christmas morning treats?

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

