Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs

Standard

Yesterday, I was on a mission!  A meatball making mission!

I had been wanting/needing to make them all weekend but with my infant niece visting…procrastination wasn’t even an issue because I was knee-high in bottles and diapers.  I almost forgot how much work goes into an infant.  My 5 yo was overjoyed she was spending the night, until she realized how much work it was too.  More so, how much “Mommy” time it took away from her – I guess she may rethink that whole “I want a sister or brother” thing LOL!

But yesterday, while my girl was at school and my niece was snoozing, I made these gorgeous beauties!

and these

I wanted to make two different sizes so that I could have some on hand for spaghetti and meatballs and some smaller ones in the freezer ready at any moment for Happy Hour!

So when I decided to make these- I was faced with a dilemma….no breadcrumbs and while I could have easily run over to the store- my Mom gave me the BEST idea!  For Christmas, we had gotten some amazing cheese and crackers from my Nana- while the cheese was gobbled up- I still had crackers left over and they were perfect to be made into breadcrumbs!

Here is what I threw together:

  • A couple of handfuls unseasoned Common Crackers
  • 1/2 tablespoon mixture of garlic powder, white pepper & kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning

put everything in the blender

and voila!  you will have the most amazing seasoned breadcrumbs!  I just pulsed to get the consistency I wanted and that’s the great thing about doing them yourself ~ control!

Now onto the meatballs!

Here is what you need:

  • 1 lb ground chuck 80/20
  • 1/2 lb ground pork
  • seasoned breadcrumbs
  • sautéed baby bella mushrooms (saute with a little white wine & butter)
  • a couple of cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon or so homemade ranch dressing (1/2 packet hidden valley ranch buttermilk dry mix & 1/2 cup heavy cream)
  • 1/2 sweet onion minced

Put your meats into the bowl ~

This recipe is so versatile because you can clean out your fridge by making these!  I had some sautéed shrooms that were left over in the fridge and I thought they were a perfect addition of flavor and texture!  Show I chopped them up and threw them on in

Along with everything else ~

The amount of breadcrumbs & dressing (milk alone will work perfectly too) is based on the texture – you want a moist but not falling apart texture but try to not over mix as you don’t want to make them tough

Then you need to get your tools together to form these balls of awesomeness!

  • 2 different sizes of scoopers
  • cookie sheet lined with foil
  • big pan
  • oil

Start rolling….

Beautiful

After they are all rolled out then quickly mince an onion to throw in a pan with the garlic oil so you can begin to pan fry these babies!  Also, pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees as we are going to finish these off in the oven

Pop them in the oven for about 15 minutes or so ~ they will sizzle and brown and shine in all their glory

Once they are all done you will have two wonderful sizes of meatballs to enjoy now or pop them in the freezer for another day!

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

